folder lists and bio/scope content not shown when browsing

General bug reports for the Archon software.

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel

folder lists and bio/scope content not shown when browsing

Postby arinekhen » Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:12 am

Hi. I'm very new to Archon, having inherited a 3.12 instance (which I am trying to upgrade, will have to create another post for that).
I'm a server admin, not a librarian, Jim. :D

The request from one of our Special Collections staff is as follows:

"I’m having a problem with entering data into Archon and I’m wondering if you have any insight. I have a student working on the Hiram Henry Lesar collection, which is one box (http://archives.lib.siu.edu/?p=collecti ... card&id=31). If you find the collection by browsing you will notice that Archon shows no information as far as folder lists and bio/scope content. To locate the collection by browsing, click collection type, university archives, RG 2 Chancellor of the Carbondale Campus, and then select RG 2 10 Hiram Henry Lesar.

But the student’s data entry does not show up when browsing. But if you search a folder title from the collection such as “college of education goals and mission” you will see that it appears in the search results. Then after clicking on results found in the box list you can see all of the data the student has entered. I do not know what the problem is, and everything is enabled for web output. Is this a database issue? Should be delete the entire record and start over?"

When I googled this set of issues I came across the concepts of "Enable Web Output" control, which I found easily, and an "audience" attribute. Due to my being completely unfamiliar with the Archon application, I cannot tell whether this is an internal XML attribute, a descriptor within the database schema, or some sort of control which can be made available or hidden by the administrator.