Using admin

General bug reports for the Archon software.

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel

Using admin

Postby jgreen » Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:58 pm

Have just gotten Archon installed by our IT folks. Am trying to access admin to create user ids for my staff. Am unable to do so. The admin page never loads. Please advise. Thanks, Jean

Jean L. Green
Head of Special Collections, Preservation and University Archives
University Libraries
Binghamton University - SUNY
P.O. Box 6012
Binghamton, New York 13902-6012
tel (607) 777-3912
fax (607) 777-6500
email jgreen@binghamton.edu
gmail jeangreen244@gmail.com
jgreen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby paulnsorensen » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:17 pm

Hi Jean,

Glad to hear you're using Archon. What version of Archon are you using, and what browser version are you using? Also do you know if Archon was installed on Apache or IIS?

Thanks,

Paul
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am

Re: Using admin

Postby jgreen » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:20 pm

Paul,

Version 3.13

Not sure what you mean by browser version? I'm in IE

Do not know if it was installed on Apache or IIS (I can ask if you need me to).

thanks,

Jean
jgreen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby paulnsorensen » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:30 pm

Jean,

Unfortunately our support in the admin interface for IE is very spotty (and quite possibly non-existent currently). We plan to address this for the 3.15 release, but that won't be out for a few months. So in the meantime, are you able to use Firefox?

Paul
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am

Re: Using admin

Postby jgreen » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:11 pm

The link that IT gave me brings up Archon right away in IE. Would I have to ask my IT folks to enable it to open in Firefox?

Thanks,

Jean
jgreen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby paulnsorensen » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:15 pm

No, if you have Firefox installed on your computer, you should just be able to copy the link and paste it into the URL bar. Then you could save that as a bookmark or the homepage so you wouldn't have to copy and paste the link every time. If you don't have Firefox installed, then you would have to ask your IT department to install that for you.

Paul
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am

Re: Using admin

Postby jgreen » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:41 pm

Okay. Interesting. The link seems to be working in Firefox now and is letting me into the admin area.

Another quick question: I would like to give my staff access to use --- would they be considered "creators"?
jgreen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby jgreen » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:43 pm

Or "public users"?
jgreen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby paulnsorensen » Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:00 pm

You would add them under the Admin Users manager. Make sure you add them to the correct group. They would likely not be Administrators, but Power Users instead.
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am

Re: Using admin

Postby jgreen » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:36 am

Thanks for all of your help with this.

Is there a user manual for the 3.13 version? (I'm looking for definitions for the various types of users: Denied Users, Read-only Users, Power Users, Users.
jgreen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby paulnsorensen » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:51 pm

Unfortunately there is not a user manual. We do have one planned for 3.15.
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am

Re: Using admin

Postby birdnird » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:31 pm

Is 2.21 still the latest user manual?
birdnird
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Using admin

Postby paulnsorensen » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:32 pm

Yes, currently.
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am


Return to Archon Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron