How to upgrade rather than install

For issues with installing and configuring the Archon software to begin running on your webserver.

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel

How to upgrade rather than install

Postby greddin » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:24 pm

I'm using 3.21-rev1 and it always keeps wanting to do an install. It even overwrote my database, but luckily I restored from backup.

How do you get it to do an upgrade instead of a fresh install?

Please advise.
greddin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: How to upgrade rather than install

Postby greddin » Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:37 am

Any ideas from anyone? I can't get past this problem. I have an existing database structure from a 2.23 install and the 3.21 wants to do an install rather than upgrade. What's it looking for that would send it into an upgrade?

Thank you.
greddin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: How to upgrade rather than install

Postby prom » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:40 pm

I would try walking through each of the older upgrades in sequential order, starting with version 3.0. As always, make sure you keep a backup copy of your database. Since you are skipping so many versions, it might be best if you work everything through on a copy of the DB first.
Chris Prom
Assistant University Archivist
Archon co-Project Director
217 333 0798
prom
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:57 am
Location: U Illinois

Re: How to upgrade rather than install

Postby paulnsorensen » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:08 pm

Have you deleted or renamed packages/core/install/install.php?
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am


Return to Installation/Configuration Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests