Install Archon on a Laptop

For issues with installing and configuring the Archon software to begin running on your webserver.

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel

Install Archon on a Laptop

Postby dkfrancis » Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:43 pm

I couldn't find a tutorial that will guide to install Archon on a laptop and make the laptop a server. Can anyone guide me and point me to the right direction? The laptop that I'm planning on using has Windows 7 PRO and has over 3GB of ram and plenty of HDD space.

Thank you.
dkfrancis
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: Install Archon on a Laptop

Postby schwartzs » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:29 pm

There is no tutorial available to help guide you for this type of installation of Archon. It is strongly recommended that you do not try to install Archon on a single stand alone machine. Such a process is fairly labor intensive and complex. scott
schwartzs
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:23 pm

Re: Install Archon on a Laptop

Postby prom » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:41 pm

As scott said, we don't recommend this. But, If you really want to try it, you can install xampp on your laptop, the follow the install instructions on our website.
Chris Prom
Assistant University Archivist
Archon co-Project Director
217 333 0798
prom
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:57 am
Location: U Illinois


Return to Installation/Configuration Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron