Upgrade 2.21 => 2.23 => 3.13-r1 and Collection/MySQL

For issues with installing and configuring the Archon software to begin running on your webserver.

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel

Upgrade 2.21 => 2.23 => 3.13-r1 and Collection/MySQL

Postby westies » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:37 pm

Greetings!

Errata:
MySQL 5.0.26
PHP 5.1.2-29.63
SuSe ES 10

My apologies if this has been discussed/covered in an earlier topic or discussion, but I did not find the answer and the Admin manual seems out-of-date (1.11).

I am a contractor for a company that is currently running their production Archon 2.21 on a SuSe system and MySQL back-end. They want to make a jump all the way up to 3.13-r1, the project to which I am assigned.

I was able to get 3.13-r1 installed working on a test system (that also had 2.21 installed) by going to 2.23 and then to 3.13-r1 fairly easily. However, since they had no live data in the MySQL database (collection) on the test server, I have nothing to confirm that everything is working. As such, how do I migrate or export/import the collection from the production system to the test system to make sure everything is copacetic with the upgrade I performed?

The tables seem radically different for the archon database, or at least different enough to raise concern. I can easily dump from the MySQL on the production system and then source the dump on the test system if that's all it takes. However, since the tables are different (and the number of tables, as well), I hesitate to overwrite using the dumps; I'd rather not have to redo the upgrade again if it trashes any configurations needed contained in the archon database in MySQL.

Also, since I am not that familiar with Archon, many of the settings I did not know about (MARC, for example). I would obviously need to know how to edit these, but I assume that's somewhere in the Admin interface...

Hints?

As always, thanks for any advice, etc.

Kevin Freels
westies