Duplicate subject lists

General discussion about installation and use of the Archon software. (Link to your site here.)

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel, sgriffin

Duplicate subject lists

Postby ETRC » Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:48 am

We are using Archon version 3.21. When viewing subjects in the public view, the "View All" list appears. At the bottom of the list the prompt "Next" appears. If that is clicked, a shortened subject listing appears. This list includes headings from the first alphabetical listing (but not all).
Additionally, when trying to add subject headings to collections, it seems that the shortened subject listing is used, so it is not always possible to actually see all the available subjects, even when they are queried by subject type in the drop downs. In the Archon Subject Manager, all the headings appear (a list that seems to be equivalent to the complete "View All" list in the public view).
Does anyone know why this is happening?
This problem makes it impossible in some cases to add a subject heading that is already in our subject listing--the system won't allow you to add a duplicate heading, but on the scroll-down list of headings, the desired heading does not appear.
Has anyone else had this issue? Is it a bug? Is there a remedy?
Thanks in advance
ETRC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:54 am

Re: Duplicate subject lists

Postby paulnsorensen » Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:33 am

I believe there are two directives in the configuration manager that control this. What you're experiencing is pagination on the public page, and a search results limit in the admin interface. This is because it becomes computationally expensive to load lists of objects as they grow, so there's a maximum that will be shown. You should start typing the subject you wish to add in the combo/select box for subjects, and it should query the table and show relevant results, which you may click to add.
paulnsorensen
Site Admin
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:55 am

Re: Duplicate subject lists

Postby ETRC » Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:57 am

Thanks, Paul.
Following your advice, the problem seems to be solved.
The public view looks correct, and I'm able to add duplicate subjects using your suggestion to start typing the heading, then scrolling to find what I want.
ETRC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:54 am


Return to Archon Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron