User Registration: Select Country

General discussion about installation and use of the Archon software. (Link to your site here.)

Moderators: paulnsorensen, kylefox2, prom, rishel, sgriffin

User Registration: Select Country

Postby sgriffin » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:54 pm

(x-posted from a reply on a thread started in the Off-Topic General Discussion...)

We received a request today to change the country name "Taiwan, Province of China" to "Republic of China (Taiwan)." This request has traveled through our institution's administration and there is a push to get this taken care of sooner, rather than later. Any ideas on how to make this change?
sgriffin
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Central Ohio

Re: User Registration: Select Country

Postby sgriffin » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:10 pm

FYI update-- I ended up posting this question to the ATART listserv (SAA's Archivists/Toolkit Archon Roundtable) and got this response from Chris P: "This value is pulled from the ISO list of terms, and is defined in a json file in the application core."

The general conclusion was that the politics between the two countries is really sticky and the best response is that the terms pull from the ISO standard and leave it as that.
sgriffin
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Central Ohio


Return to Archon Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron